Dota 2 Matchmaking - Quick Guide

Like all the other online multiplayer competitive games, Dota 2 also has its own ranking system. The Dota 2 ranking system is also integrated in the matchmaking queue. Whether it works flawlessly or not, it is still up for debate. However, the developers are constantly making efforts to improve the game's matchmaking system.

By playing ranked matches, Dota 2 players are put into corresponding tiers and are associated with a tier and medal. The medal and tier of a player are displayed on the players' profiles next to their names.

These are the Dota 2 ranks from lowest to highest:

  • Herald
  • Guardian
  • Crusader
  • Archon
  • Legend
  • Ancient
  • Divine
  • Immortal

Important! A percentage-based counter that indicates a player's progress towards the next rank can be found on the Dota 2 client main menu, underneath the player card. Winning a game will increase the percentage and when the player gets to 100%, he will advance to the next rank.